VW wave

I will be doing an A-Z Blogging Challenge this April.  I will save all of the posts onto a separate tab at the top of my blog.  I will be writing some fiction posts which will hopefully link together.  Don’t worry, I won’t stop blogging about Edna, but I thought it was time to do some writing in this Camping and Writing blog.  I hope you’ll take a peek.  I’m a little nervous about this.

Now I have a VW Camper Van other Camper Vans, particularly VWs will often wave as we go past or sometimes hoot their horn.  This is lovely and the children think it is great too.  We feel like we’re part of a special club.  However, there are some difficulties with this.  There are a lot of VW vans around.  They seem to fall into three categories –  normal vans, often owned by plumbers or small businesses, people carriers with lots of seats and camper vans.  We are quite new to this though and often it is quite difficult to tell whether first of all a van is a VW and then if it’s a camper rather than a people carrier or tradesman.  This is especially true when one is driving towards you on the opposite side of the road.  You have to make a split decision, do I wave or not.  So the past few weeks has had me waving at quite a few random people who after I have passed I have realised weren’t camper vans.  I am getting better at doing this, though I should remember only to do it in the Camper and not when I’m driving the husband’s car.  I tend to look for the roof now, it seems to be the easiest thing to spot from the front, but just in case, if you’re a plumber in a VW van watch out for me.  I’ll be the one waving enthusiastically in a Camper Van called Edna.

12 thoughts on “VW wave

  1. my parents are driving a people carrier VW van, because we have so many kids in the family (there were four of us, and now there are grandkids already) The kids will still be happy when you honk and wave, even if they are not going camping 😉

    Good luck with the A-Z challenge, I’m looking forward to your posts. 🙂

  2. Ah, the VW wave.
    It can be a fun part of any road trip. You start off enthusiastically waving to all campers (VWs of course) and at some point you give up in frustration as you realize your waves are not being returned. This could be due to your van (A) belonging to the wrong generation. In our case we have a T3, so we find Bay Windows and T5s can sometimes be a bit aloof. I’ve heard that T4 & T5 owners can be ignored by older versions. Or ( B) you’re foolishly waving to (so called) plumbers vans. I find, contrary to popular opinion, Splitty van drivers always wave (I guess, it’s because there are so few of them, and they will take any opportunity)
    Of course, as soon as you give up in disgust, all and sundry start waving to you and making you feel rather unsociable, when you don’t bother. Sometimes (especially at start of the holiday season) you even get Motorhome drivers waving.
    Once we were driving to Italy, in a previous van we owned and we got all the way to Switzerland before we got our very first wave of the trip (of course, we gad given up by then). Driving along my concentration was disturbed by someone peeping their horn. I looked around to find a Car Dealer Parts delivery van driving alongside on the wrong side of the road. The driver leaning over the passenger seat frantically giving us the official “Shaka” VW wave. I quickly waved back before pointing to the rapidly approaching traffic and braking to let him pull in safely.
    so I guess, if there is a moral to my tale, it is, be vigilant for the wave at all times, but also drive safely. 🙂

    • Priceless. Thanks for the insight. I haven’t met any older camper vans yet. I’m a T5, so I’ll report back on how they react. It’s mainly T4s and T5s I’ve seen. We’ve had motor home waves too.

  3. Thanks Lottie! I was going to post all the A-Z comments on a separate page but I’m not sure how to do it. Any ideas? The rest of the blog is Edna’s of course.

  4. Enjoying your blog. This is a great conversation! We tend to wave at most all VW’s here when out on the open road, not so much if just driving around town.

  5. Mine’s not a VW and it’s not officially a campervan – it’s a big Toyota people carrier which lends itself nicely to being a campervan when the occasion arises. If you ever see me do give me a wave – the van is easy to recognise as it’s got a big eagle graphic on the front and black tribal designs along the sides.

Leave a Reply

