Camping and Forgetting Things

So after some set backs earlier in the week I found another camp site and booked it.  Since then we’ve had these foggy colder mornings, so I’m hoping it’s not going to be too cold.  It’s a bit of the unknown though.  I’m not sure how warm the camper van will be and I keep writing check lists in the hope that I don’t forget anything.  I probably will, but most things you can get around.  I think I’m just a bit worried it won’t be as great as I hoped.  I just have to remember that I loved it when we rented the camper van and I’ve forgotten a lot of things before whilst I’ve been camping but it’s never been a failure because of that. 

I quite often forget night clothes when I go away and have to transform some tracksuit bottoms into pyjamas or a t-shirt into a nightie.  I usually remember to check the children’s though, so it’s only normally me.  We once forgot the tin opener and had to ask some people at another tent to borrow theirs.  They were ever so lovely and actually came past our tent the next morning and asked us if we needed it again for breakfast.  When we first started camping we didn’t have chairs and we just sat on picnic blankets the whole time, and early on I once forgot to pack cups and the children had drinking chocolate out of bowls, very continental.  Have you ever forgotten something really important?

I have never forgotten the tent or the pegs though, or even the sleeping bags or air mattresses/sleeping mats.  I’m just a little bit nervous, but excited too.  Nearly everything is ready and hopefully our new sleeping bags which are a bit thicker will arrive before we go tomorrow.  I ordered them on Monday next day delivery and they didn’t arrive on Tuesday.  So I rang them up on Wednesday and they said they were out of stock on one of the additional items I’d ordered.  I asked if I could have the order without that and they said certainly and told me I would have it the next day, Thursday and promised not to charge me for next day delivery.  Nothing arrived today, but on their website it says my order will arrive tomorrow between 06:30 and 19:00.  Well, we’re hoping to leave by 5:00pm so you never know.  We can still use our older sleeping bags and take some extra blankets and things anyway.

So, work tomorrow and school for the children and then we’ll see how quickly we can get away.  It’ll be a proper test because it does take a while to strike camp in a tent so we’ll see how quickly we can get ready in Edna.  I’ll report back next week with some pictures.

One thought on “Camping and Forgetting Things

Leave a Reply

