Looking Back and Looking Forwards

 

Loch Goil

Loch Goil

Some of the best views I have ever seen were in Lochgoilhead, Scotland this year.  We didn’t camp as there wasn’t a campsite.  We stayed in a holiday cottage.

View from the holiday house.

View from the holiday house.

The place was gorgeous.  Taking a deep breath and staring into the distance continuously, gorgeous.  I spent a lot of time sitting on the porch just looking.

Loch Goil

Loch Goil

The other wonderful thing was that it was so peaceful the sound carried and you could hear the chatter of children in canoes or people in sailing boats calling to each other as they pulled in and moored up.

Loch Goil

Loch Goil

It is a tidal loch so the scene changes as the tide comes in and out and the clouds loom and lighten and the light plays on the water.  Absolutely beautiful.

Loch Goil

Loch Goil

So one of my New Years Resolutions is to look for plenty more gorgeous views that feed the soul.

In terms of writing.  I am a sporadic writer fitting it in between other commitments and this year I haven’t written that much.  I managed 22 000 words during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) whereas last year I managed 50 000 words, but I did get to terms with Scrivener which is useful in a lot of ways.  I started quite a lot of short stories but didn’t complete and edit many of them – my big downfall.  So I would like to try and edit and complete things this year including my two half built (NaNoWriMo) novels.  I’m going to make myself report in and say what I have completed every month both with my writing group and here in my blog.  I won’t bore you to pieces but I work better with deadlines so I’m imposing some on myself.  We’ll see how it works.  I have also learnt this year that I prefer writing longer pieces to short stories. 
Of course, I will also be exploring as many places as possible in my camper van.  Watch this space.  Good luck with your hopes and dreams for the New Year.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Looking Back and Looking Forwards

  1. Thank you so much for visiting my blog, it is much appreciated. I wish you every success in 2014 with your writing goals. I wanted to take part in NaNoWriMo last November but we’d only just moved to Spain and I had a mountain of stuff to do and no internet. I’m a sucker for Scottish lochs too, I could sit and gaze at them all day.

  2. If you want more gorgeous views to feed the soul I can HIGHLY recommend the Arisiag area of the Highlands. I stayed last year at Invercaimbe camp site a mile outside the village – it’s on the estuary of the Caimbe burn and the end of the site goes right onto the most gorgeous beach. The views across to the small isles of Eigg, Muck and Rum are to die for and the sunsets are fabulous. Check out my blog from late May/early June last year for some photos of the site and the area.

Leave a Reply

