Budget Hotel vs Camping

Arrival

  • With a budget hotel I always try to check in as early as possible as I’ve heard all sorts of rumours about them overbooking.  I’ve never actually heard of anyone being turned away, but it always plays on my mind.  I’m happy once I have a key in my hand.
  • Similarly, at a campsite the idea flashes through my mind that they may have lost my booking.  Then I worry that they will have run out of space and I will be shovelled into a corner somewhere with no space around us.  Again, this is completely unfounded.

Toilets

  • With a family room you share an en-suite bathroom.  Great!  Many people will think.  Toilets on the doorstep, but that also means toilet smells.  The worst thing is the toilet in the middle of the night.  The light switch was on the outside which meant that you had to switch it on and then open the door and wake everyone else in the room up with the very efficient light.  It was also accompanied by the loud fan whirring
  • If I talk about camping people always say, but what about having to walk to the toilets in the middle of the night.  I like walking to the toilets, looking at the stars and listening to the peace and quiet.  If you pick a good campsite they’re clean and tidy and you get a bit of peace and quiet when you go to the loo.  No nasty smells in your bedroom either.  Of course it can be cold and wet, but then you get to snuggle up in bed afterwards and appreciate the warmth.  The zip of the tent can be noisy though.

Noise

  • In a hotel room you can hear people moving around in neighbouring bedrooms above, below or next door to you.  You can also hear people arriving and leaving in the the corridors and stairwells.
  • In campsites you can hear other people moving around and settling down in the evening, but a lot of campsites have an eleven o’clock quiet time so most of the time it’s quiet after that and before seven or eight.  In the morning you hear hushed children and if you’re lucky sizzling bacon.  Okay, sometimes you do hear late night jollities and early morning children.

Breakfast

  • Some budget hotels don’t have anywhere for breakfast.  Some have overpriced options, some have a variety of options as they are located in a central position.  So breakfast can vary
  • Camping can be weather dependent.  Cereal in the rain,  sizzling bacon eaten outside if it’s dry.  So, similar to the hotel in that it can vary.

Temperature

  • Budget hotel’s can be extremely hot and dry and difficult to control the temperature.  At the weekend we struggled to sleep because of the heat and turning down the heater didn’t help much.  Opening the window onto the floodlit car park wasn’t particularly useful either.
  • Camping can be cold, so you need to wrap up warm in layers and have plenty of covers.

Well, I know I’m extremely biased, but I couldn’t believe how hot it was in the room and it wasn’t just me who was hot.  Mmm!  I wonder how many people would share my view of prefering camping.  I know a lot who would prefer the hotel.

2 thoughts on “Budget Hotel vs Camping

  1. With a hotel, it’s $100+ a night (around here) to be surrounded by thin walls and a floor; the best camping is free, and allows stargazing.

    I got a pair of Feathered Friends down booties, they have removable boots for those trips to the bathroom, and down socks for sleeping in. Cold is good sleeping weather, but it also means being able to snuggle up in the warm stuff I love. 🙂

    The best views I’ve ever enjoyed have been from high camps on Mount Baker and on the Sahale Glacier in North Cascades National Park. Those are luxuries no hotel can provide; five stars at the Hilton don’t compare to the 400 billion stars of the Milky Way.

    • I agree, definitely. Making a den and snuggling up. Isn’t that what we all want to do as kids? And adults?

      There are some brilliant views on your blog. I’m hoping to sort through my photos and post more soon.

Leave a Reply

